Deluxe red vinyl LP pressing with original label, printed inner sleeve, gatefold cardboard jacket with album sticker. 1978 album from the outfit best known as the backing band for Johnny Guitar Watson. The album was produced and arranged by Watson so that funky groove that you would expect is very evident on this album.


In 1978 Johnny “Guitar” Watson’s backup band decided to record a project as the Watsonian Institute. Master Funk is the only LP that was releases under that name, and for all intents and purposes, this is very much a Johnny “Guitar” Watson album.


The main difference between this record and the hit albums that Watson has been recording under his own name in the 70’s is the fact that this release has a strongest JAZZ influence.


While “Ain’t That a Bitch” or “A Real Mother For Ya” are FUNK/SOUL albums, Master Funk is an album in which FUNK, SOUL and SOUL-JAZZ LIVE!


A1 The Institute 4:08
A2 Master Funk 4:40
A3 The Funk If I Know 4:00
A4 Lady Voo Doo 4:44

B1 De John's Delight 3:00
B2 Coming Around 4:00
B3 Virginia's Pretty Funky 4:55


24,90 € Precio
19,90 €Precio de oferta

Label: DJM Records ‎– DJLPA-13, LMLR ‎– DJLPA-13

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Translucent Red, 140 gr

Country: France

Released: 2017


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • 94dddf_f92f3a754a074dae9cd7995bec4d41cb-mv2
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon