The Ace catalogue has traditionally focused on American music. But our compilers have never shied from venturing worldwide in their quest for good sounds, as evident from our popular collections spotlighting the female vocalists of 1960s Japan, France and Italy (not forgetting the UK). Now it's the turn of Sweden.

Our smörgåsbord of Swedish she-pop opens with early solo sides by the lead singers of the nation's greatest pop music export, ABBA: Agnetha Fältskog with 'Ge Dej Till Tåls' (a highlight of her second album) and Anni-Frid Lyngstad with 'Så Synd Du Måste Gå' (a song popularised by Françoise Hardy as 'Comment Te Dire Adieu').

Other featured well-known names include national treasure Lill-Babs with her cover of Dusty Springfield's 'Little By Little' and chart star Mona Wessman with a version of 'Music To Watch Girls By'.

But it wasn't all cover versions in mid-60s Sweden. Dig, for example, Eleanor Bodel's title track, 'Don't' by cult favourite Doris (who also appears as lead vocalist of the group Plums), au pair duo Bella & Me's groovy 'Help Me Break This Habit' and Britt Bergström's Ivy League-penned 'You Really Have Started Something'.

Cherry-picked tracks by the Plommons and cover stars MAK Les Soeurs illustrate the country also produced its fair share of all-girl groups.


This LP version is pressed on snow white 180g vinyl in heavy duty sleeve, with inner bag featuring a 4,000-word track commentary and a plethora of superb photos. Compiled by Mick Patrick.


A1 Ge Dej Till Tåls - Agnetha Fältskog
A2 Så Synd Du Måste Gå - Anni-Frid Lyngstad
A3 The Girls Want The Boys - Eleanor Bodel
A4 Kärlek Finns Det Överallt - Mak Les Soeurs
A5 Good Kind Of Hurt - Lena Junoff
A6 Last Train To Liverpool - Plommons

B1 Don't - Doris
B2 Help Me Break This Habit - Bella & Me
B3 Vädret - Mona Wessman
B4 Lite För Liten - Lill-Babs
B5 You Really Have Started Something - Britt Bergström
B6 Benny Law - Plums

VARIOS LP The Girls Want The Boys! Sweden's Beat Girls 1966-1970 (White Colour)

24,90 € Precio
21,90 €Precio de oferta

Label: Ace International ‎– XXQLP 048

Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, White

Country: Europe

Released: 2016


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • 94dddf_f92f3a754a074dae9cd7995bec4d41cb-mv2
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon