Fela Kuti's success in the West has hidden from view the mind-boggling range of modern Nigerian music. Though formally this compilation (and another one to follow shortly) puts things in perspective with styles ranging from the mid-sixties to the early eighties - musically they are just staggering. There is juju apala, afrofunk, highlife, some breathtaking classic fuji - raw Muslim street music - for twenty five years now the real soundtrack of Lagos youth. And the Afrobeat tracks here include one of the best you'll ever hear, thirteen minutes of Shina WIlliams And His African Percussions. As Chief Ebenezer Obey puts it - 'Eyi Yato', somthing different. With detailed notes by Michael Veal, Fela's biographer; and great artwork from Lagos, a stunning production from Honest Jons.


A1 Sir Shina Adewale - "Awa Ni Superstars"
A2 Dr Victor Olaiya - "Omelebele"
A3 Etubom Rex Williams - "Uwa Idem Mi"
A4 Kollington Ayinla - "Alhaja Sikira Adunni/Ayinla Fuji E Gapupo"


B1 Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa - "Soffry Soffry Catch Monkey"
B2 Nigerian Army Rhythm Group - "Ebawa Se"
B3 Eastern Minstrels - "Selense"


C1 Oliver De Coque - "The Tragedy Story Of Two Friends"
C2 Steven Amechi & His Rhythm Skies - "Onye Na Eli Nkwu"
C3 Cardinal Rex Jim Lawson - "Owuna Derina"
C4 Workers Brigade Band - "Kpalongo"


D1 Shina Williams & His African Percussions - "Iseaje Male/Egbekegbe/Emikoni Koja Ayemi"

VARIOS 2xLP Lagos Chop Up

29,90 € Precio
21,90 €Precio de oferta

Label: Honest Jon's Records ‎– HJRLP15

Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Country: UK

Released: 2005


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • 94dddf_f92f3a754a074dae9cd7995bec4d41cb-mv2
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon