top of page

A New Life: Vol. II (Independent & Regional Jazz In Great Britain 1968-1988)


Gatefold sleeve with liners notes and pictures; Includes download card. Jazzman Records deliver A New Life, Vol. II: Independent and Regional Jazz in Great Britain 1968-1988, continuing their series of under-heard jazz from the UK. It's been three years since Jazzman's A New Life (JMAN 075CD/LP, 2015) alerted jazz heads to the existence of an unknown world of British jazz private pressings and indie obscurities. Back for a second round, compilers Francis Gooding and Duncan Brooker have dug deep into the archives to assemble another ground-breaking collection of Brit jazz anomalies and outliers from the 1970s and 1980s. A New Life, Vol. II picks up the story where A New Life left off, searching out overlooked jazz gems from across the length and breadth of the British Isles. When the major labels and the record industry left jazz out in the cold, musicians and jazz enthusiasts took the initiative. Indie labels made space for established artists and experimental outsiders alike, while local groups and youth bands turned to private pressings to document their music and build their own scenes. From London blues renegade Billy Jenkins's spiritual tribute to Pharoah Sanders and the swinging vocal artistry of Belfast-born Gerry McClelland, to the thunderous big band sound of Leicester's Music Explosion and the modal drama of the Don Rendell Five, A New Life, Vol. II reveals another fascinating layer of forgotten Brit jazz history. Fully researched and presented with in depth liner notes, Jazzman Records again brings you the unheard, unorthodox and under-rated sound of the British jazz underground!


A1 Gerry McClelland – Come, Listen To Me 2:32
A2 Don Rendell Five – Unicorn 9:16
A3 Billy Jenkins – Pharoah Sanders 6:34
A4 Frank Evans – Pipe Of Peace 2:40

B1 Hotpoints – Put The Wood On The Fire 7:01
B2 Inner Ear – Dunkelfunk 8:19
B3 RedBrass – Sunspots 6:10

C1 Big Sun – I Dream Of 6:22
C2 The Midland Youth Jazz Orchestra – Down In The Hollow 6:25
C3 Robert Shaw With The Dick Hawden Quintet – A North Country Lass Tells Her Sorrows 4:39

D1 Big Baffle – Bikini Atoll 5:31
D2 Music Explosion With New Jazz Six – Bending Over Backwards 4:41
D3 Pat Crumly Sextet – Senufo Chant 8:03

VARIOS 2xLP A New Life: Vol. II Independent & Regional Jazz In Great Britain

€34.90 Precio
€26.90Precio de oferta
  • Label: Jazzman – JMANLP101
    Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation
    Country: UK
    Released: 2018

bottom of page