WITH ITS $200-300 PRICE TAG ON THE USED MARKET, the vinyl version of 69 Love Songs (originally released in 1999, the first vinyl version came in 2010) is the most expensive release in the Merge Records back catalog. It's 2015 and we thankfully have a new remastered vinyl reissue of The Magnetic Fields' most celebrated work. Like the original, this version comes with (6) 10" records, (3) gatefold sleeves, a slipcase to house them all, original booklet, and download card.


The limited-edition 10-inch box set includes six records housed in a sturdy slipcase along with a full-size, 24-page color booklet featuring liner notes written by author Daniel Handler, a.k.a. Lemony Snicket. Includes a download code.

Initially intended to be performed as a live review, the compositions on 69 Love Songs are some of Merritt's most ambitious and diverse to date, but they still honor his time tested themes of life, loss, hope and beauty.


69 Love Songs Vol. 1
A1 Absolutely Cuckoo 1:34
A2 I Don't Believe In The Sun 4:16
A3 All My Little Words 2:46
A4 A Chicken With Its Head Cut Off 2:41
A5 Reno Dakota 1:05
A6 I Don't Want To Get Over You 2:22

B1 Come Back From San Francisco 2:48
B2 The Luckiest Guy On The Lower East Side 3:43
B3 Let's Pretend We're Bunny Rabbits 2:25
B4 The Cactus Where Your Heart Should Be 1:11
B5 I Think I Need A New Heart 2:32
B6 The Book Of Love 2:42

C1 Fido, Your Leash Is Too Long 2:33
C2 How Fucking Romantic 0:58
C3 The One You Really Love 2:53
C4 Punk Love 0:58
C5 Parades Go By 2:56
C6 Boa Constrictor 0:58

D1 A Pretty Girl Is Like... 1:50
D2 My Sentimental Melody 3:07
D3 Nothing Matters When We're Dancing 2:27
D4 Sweet-Lovin' Man 4:59
D5 The Things We Did And Didn't Do 2:11

69 Love Songs Vol. 2
E1 Roses 0:27
E2 Love Is Like Jazz 2:56
E3 When My Boy Walks Down The Street 2:38
E4 Time Enough For Rocking When We're Old 2:03
E5 Very Funny 1:26
E6 Grand Canyon 2:28
E7 No One Will Ever Love You 3:14

F1 If You Don't Cry 3:07
F2 You're My Only Home 2:17
F3 (Crazy For You But) Not That Crazy 2:18
F4 My Only Friend 2:01
F5 Promises Of Eternity 3:46

G1 World Love 3:07
G2 Washington, D.C. 1:53
G3 Long-Forgotten Fairytale 3:37
G4 Kiss Me Like You Mean It 2:01
G5 Papa Was A Rodeo 5:01

H1 Epitaph For My Heart 2:50
H2 Asleep And Dreaming 1:53
H3 The Sun Goes Down And The World Goes Dancing 2:46
H4 The Way You Say Good-Night 2:44
H5 Abigail, Belle Of Kilronan 2:00
H6 I Shatter 3:09

69 Loves Songs Vol. 3
I1 Underwear 2:49
I2 It's A Crime 3:54
I3 Busby Berkeley Dreams 3:36
I4 I'm Sorry I Love You 3:06
I5 Acoustic Guitar 2:37

J1 The Death Of Ferdinand De Saussure 3:11
J2 Love In The Shadows 2:54
J3 Bitter Tears 2:51
J4 Wi' Nae Wee Bairn Ye'll Me Beget 1:55
J5 Yeah! Oh, Yeah! 2:19
J6 Experimental Music Love 0:29

K1 Meaningless 2:08
K2 Love Is Like A Bottle Of Gin 1:46
K3 Queen Of The Savages 2:12
K4 Blue You 3:03
K5 I Can't Touch You Anymore 3:05
K6 Two Kinds Of People 1:10

L1 How To Say Goodbye 2:48
L2 The Night You Can't Remember 2:17
L3 For We Are The King Of The Boudoir 1:14
L4 Strange Eyes 2:01
L5 Xylophone Track 2:47
L6 Zebra 2:15 


125,00 € Precio
89,90 €Precio de oferta

Label: Merge Records ‎– MRG 169

Format: 6 × Vinyl, 10", Album, Limited Edition, Remastered

Country: US

Released: 06 Nov 2015


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • 94dddf_f92f3a754a074dae9cd7995bec4d41cb-mv2
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon