• Limited edition heavyweight 180 gram coloured vinyl
  • Remastered at Abbey Road with half-speed mastering process


This 1972 release was the first release by Pete Townshend outside of The Who. The album is a collection of music dedicated to Meher Baba, Townshend’s spiritual master and follows on from the private pressings of ‘Happy Birthday’ another devotional album which Townshend put together to celebrate the first anniversary of the passing of Baba and its follow up ‘I Am’. ‘Who Came First’ came about because of the bootlegging of these albums and Decca in the States pushing for an official release. In response Townshend decided to release a new album, with Decca promising $1 of every sale going towards Baba projects. The resultant album exposes Townshend’s spiritual enlightenment and sees him perform with fellow Baba followers, including Ronnie Lane and Billy Nicholls.

The album includes Townshend’s versions of Who Classics ‘Let’s See Action’ and the sublime opener ‘Pure and Easy’ as well as cover versions of songs which were Baba favourites. The album closes with the epic ‘Parvadigar’, a rendition of Meher Baba’s Universal Prayer, set to music by PeteTownshend.

Side 1 
1. Pure and Easy
2. Evolution
3. Forever's No Time At All
4. Let's See Action

Side 2
1. Time Is Passing
2. There's A Heartache Following Me
3. Sheraton Gibson
4. Content
5. Parvardigar

PETE TOWNSHEND LP Who Came First (Limited White Coloured Vinyl)

24,90 € Precio
21,90 €Precio de oferta
  • Label: UMC ‎– 4780152, Track Record ‎– 4780152

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, White, Gatefold 

    Country: Europe

    Released: 17 Feb 2017