Includes a voucher to download MP3 version of the album.

Comes with Back to Black sticker on shrink wrap.


ECLECTIC AND VARIED STUDIO ALBUM FROM AMERICAN SINGER-SONGWRITER NINA SIMONE. High Priestess Of Soul was originally recorded in 1965 and 1966, and seems to be more aware of the contemporary trends in soul music than Simone's previous outings for Philips. Many of the songs feature big band arrangements from Hal Mooney, but he's able to preserve some space for Simone to shine. There are compositions from future David Lynch collaborator Angelo Badalamenti ("I Hold No Grudge" and "He Ain't Comin' Home No More"), however Simone's more introspective material stands out from those song's more saccharine moments. Highlights include her energetic rendition of the Oscar Brown and Nat Adderley penned "Work Song," and her spiritual composition "Come Ye" where she's accompanied by only minimal percussion. Twelve tracks in all. Released by Philips on black vinyl housed in a full color replica sleeve.


A1 Don't You Pay Them No Mind
A2 I'm Gonna Leave You
A3 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
A4 Keeper Of The Flame
A5 The Gal From Joe's
A6 Take Me To The Water
A7 I'm Going Back Home

B1 I Hold No Grudge
B2 Come Ye
B3 He Ain't Comin' Home No More
B4 Work Song
B5 I Love My Baby

NINA SIMONE LP High Priestess Of Soul

€23.90 Precio
€19.90Precio de oferta

Label: Philips ‎– 0600753605745

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Stereo, 180 Gram 

Country: Netherlands

Released: 2016


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • 94dddf_f92f3a754a074dae9cd7995bec4d41cb-mv2
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon