In 1972, one of Jamaica's most popular and successful singers, John Holt, teamed up with British-born record producer, Tony Ashfield to create a style of reggae aimed at appealing to music listeners of all ages and colours throughout the world.
By combining Jamaican rhythms with sophisticated western arrangements, the pair succeeded in their aim, producing an album that exceeded all expectations. ‘The Further You Look’ set the standard for what later became widely known as ‘pop reggae’ and quickly became a must-have album for a broad spectrum of record buyers, selling in vast numbers amongst both black and white communities.
The follow-up LP, ‘1000 Volts Of Holt’, which included the UK chart hit, ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’ proved even more popular, with the collection becoming Trojan’s most successful single artist album to date.
Holt and Ashfield subsequently collaborated on a further two best-selling long players, ‘Dusty Roads’ and ‘2000 Volts Of Holt’, with all four of these hugely popular and influential albums finally brought together on this one essential 2CD package.
Includes UK Top 5 hit, ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’
1000 Volts continues to be the best selling album in the Trojan catalogue
First time all 4 albums in the ‘Volts’ series have been collected on a single package


1 The Further You Look (The Less You See)
2 I Sing My Song
3 Never Let Me Go
4 Saving My Love
5 I Won't Come In (While He's Here)
6 Just Let Me Know
7 I'm a Rover
8 Open the Door
9 I'll Be There
10 Memories By the Score
11 I'll Always Love You
12 I Wanna Dance (May I Have This Dance)
13 Never Never Never
14 Morning of My Life
15 Stoned Out of My Mind
16 Baby I'm a Want You
17 Help Me Make It Through the Night
18 Mr. Bojangles
19 I'd Love You to Want Me
20 Killing Me Softly With Her Song
21 You Baby
22 Too Much Love
23 The Girl from Ipanema
24 Which Way You Going Baby

1 Tell Me Why
2 After All
3 I Don't Mind
4 Not So Close
5 I'll Light Your Fire
6 You'd Better Take Time
7 Dusty Roads
8 These Old Memories
9 In the Middle of the Night
10 Make This Young Lady Mine
11 I Won't Let You Forget
12 The Same Old Thing
13 Doctor Love
14 Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yesterday
15 Touch Me in the Morning
16 Keep On Moving
17 I Will
18 Alfie
19 I'll Take a Melody
20 My Guiding Star
21 On a Clear Day You Can See Forever
22 Peace and Love
23 Take My Heart Away Teresa
24 For the Love of You



JOHN HOLT 2xCD 4000 Volts Of Holt (The Classic Albums Collection)

11,90 €Precio
  • Label: Trojan Records ‎– TJDCD542, BMG ‎– TJDCD542

    Format: 2 × CD, Compilation 

    Country: UK & Europe

    Released: 2016