Coltrane Jazz was the first album to hit the shelves after Giant Steps and marks the transition from his experimental groups to his final classic quartet. On most of the tunes, he is backed by Miles Davis' rhythm section, consisting of Wynton Kelly on piano, Paul Chambers on bass and Jimmy Cobb on drums. The main session here, recorded on December 2, 1959, was completed with "Naima", which was issued on Giant Steps. "Village Blues", on the other hand, was made nearly a year later and presents the seed of Coltrane's classic quartet, with McCoy Tyner on piano, Steve Davis (later replaced by Jimmy Garrison) on bass,and Elvin Jones on drums. Coltrane Jazz was a good consolidation of his achievements as he prepared to launch into his peak years of the 1960s. There are three standards, but the best work is done on Coltrane's original tunes, especially on "Harmonique".


A1 Little Old Lady 4:25
A2 Village Blues 5:21
A3 My Shining Hour 4:50
A4 Fifth House 4:38

B1 Harmonique 4:10
B2 Like Sonny 5:51
B3 I'll Wait And Pray 3:32
B4 Some Other Blues 5:33
B5 I'll Wait And Pray (Alt. Tk) 3:25

JOHN COLTRANE LP Coltrane Jazz (180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl)

19,90 € Precio
14,90 €Precio de oferta
  • Label: Spiral Records – 8105246

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, Collectior's Edition, 180 gram 

    Country: Europe

    Released: 2017