Vinilo Doble de color Negro y Transparente Exclusivo para el Record Store Day 2020. La cara D tiene un grabado con láser.


Edición doble vinilo de Stone Free: a Tribute to Jimi Hendrix un álbum grabado en 1993 por varios artistas en homenaje a Jimi Hendrix. Los artistas provenían de diversos géneros. Entre los participantes se encuentran sus contemporáneos de la escena de rock clásico Eric Clapton y Jeff Beck, el blues Buddy Guy, el violinista clásico Nigel Kennedy, las bandas de pop/ rock alternativo Belly and Spin Doctors, artistas de hip hop como P. M. Dawn, entre otros. Según las notas del libreto, "se animó a los artistas a no sólo grabar uno de sus temas favoritos, sino también a poner su sello en las canciones de Jimi". Varios artistas grabaron interpretaciones radicalmente diferentes, en particular, P. M. Dawn, the Cure, Nigel Kennedy y Pat Metheny. Algunos artistas, por otro lado, grabaron versiones bastante similares a las originales.



Record Store Day reissue pressed on clear and black vinyl with an etching on the D side; packaged in a gatefold jacket.

'Stone Free: A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix' (1993) was recorded by various artists in tribute to Jimi Hendrix. The artists were drawn from many genres of popular music. Contributors include his classic rock contemporaries Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck, blues man Buddy Guy, classical violinist Nigel Kennedy, alternative pop/rock bands Belly and Spin Doctors, hip hop artists P.M. Dawn, among others. According to the liner notes, the 'artists were encouraged to not only record one of their own personal favorites but to also place their stamp on Jimi's songs'. Several artists recorded radically different interpretations, particularly, P.M. Dawn, The Cure, Nigel Kennedy and Pat Metheny. Some artists, on the other hand, recorded versions that were rather similar to the originals. The band M.A.C.C. is made up of Mike McCready (guitarist from Pearl Jam), Jeff Ament (bassist from Pearl Jam), Matt Cameron (drummer for Soundgarden and later for Pearl Jam), and Chris Cornell (singer of Soundgarden and later Audioslave). The cover of 'Hey Baby (Land of the New Rising Sun)' is their only known recording. All four members of this group had previously worked together on the Temple of the Dog project. Eric Clapton's backing group on the title track includes the three original core members of Chic (Nile Rodgers, Bernard Edwards and Tony Thompson) and is the last recording on which all three played together.


A1 The Cure - Purple Haze

A2 Eric Clapton - Stone Free

A3 Spin Doctors - Spanish Castle Magic

A4 Buddy Guy - Red House

A5 Body Count - Hey Joe


B1 Jeff Beck and Seal - Manic Depression

B2 Nigel Kennedy - Fire

B3 Pretenders - Bold As Love

B4 P.M. Dawn - You Got Me Floatin'


C1 Slash and Paul Rodgers with the Band of Gypsys - I Don't Live Today

C2 Belly - Are You Experienced?

C3 Living Colour - Crosstown Traffic

C4Pat Metheny - Third Stone From The Sun

C5 M.A.C.C. - Hey Baby (Land Of The New Rising Sun)

JIMI HENDRIX 2xLP Stone Free (A Tribute To Jimi Hendrix) Record Store Day 2020

39,90 € Precio
34,90 €Precio de oferta
  • Label: Reprise Records ‎– 093624543817, Reprise Records ‎– 093624895268

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Clear And Black Vinyl, LP, Single Sided, Etched, Clear And Black All Media, Compilation, Limited Edition, Reissue

    Country: Europe

    Released: 09 Oct 2020