El hijo bastardo de Elvis y Lux Interior, el guitarrista israelí Charlie Megira elaboró ​​un embriagador amalgama de trash rock de los años 50, trémolo surf y gótico empapado de reverberación durante sus breves 44 viajes alrededor del sol.


El guitarrista israelí grabó siete álbumes de material en 15 años antes de fallecer prematuramente a los 44 años. Tomorrow's Gone recopila 24 de estas canciones en un doble álbum que recorre su carrera, acompañado de un lujoso folleto que documenta su trayectoria y su trágica existencia. Armado con solo una guitarra Eko, un esmoquin negro y sus característicos tonos envolventes, Charlie Megira fue un artista que rompió moldes y se desintegró mientras todos mirábamos nuestros teléfonos.



The bastard love child of Elvis and Lux Interior, Israeli guitarist Charlie Megira brewed a heady amalgam of ’50s trash rock, surf-y tremolo, and reverb-drenched goth during his all-too-brief 44 trips around the sun.


The late Charlie Megira gets a retrospective release from the Numero Group. Tomorrow’s Gone compiles two dozen of the Israeli artist’s tunes. As signposted by his carefully-coiffeured rockabilly image, Megira’s music is a kind of dreamstate update on Link Wray’s surf rock of the 60s. The lo-fi recordings add grit to tracks like ‘The Valley Of Tears’, tying Megira into the Velvet Underground/Jesus And Mary Chain/Spacemen 3 lineage. A true trashcan genius, much of Charlie Megira’s output (something like seven albums’ worth of material across 15 years, solely available on scratched CD-Rs) is lost to history and the landfill. As is their wont, the folks at Numero Group pull away the dust sheets and fix up the 1950s rock and shaky surf tones of Tomorrow’s Gone, a downright masterful collection of cuts. Bless Megira, gone but not forgotten.


Even in this age of near-total Internet accessibility, Charlie Megira is a modern mystery. A casual search turns up little aside from a few cryptic articles. His brief career unfolded during a changing of the guard in the music industry, opening on the death of the compact disc and ending just prior to Spotify’s IPO. For an artist like Megira, living far away from a major music outpost, there was more chaos than structure for his recordings to exist and find an audience. This collection is the first attempt at putting the pieces together, compiling a life’s work of an artist whose spark almost shined unto the world.

His was a music both familiar and entirely alien at once. It touches on corners of darkness, an isolation both lonely and sweet, all wrapped in a cold glow that draws the listener into each note, each melancholy melody triggering unrecorded experiences. His various projects put out music which began as a junction point between Link Wray’s surf guitar and the theatrical psychobilly of The Cramps, took a turn towards goth-inflected post-punk, and towards the end of his career would sojourn back into his earlier musical fascination with late 1950s and early 1960s rock ‘n’ roll.

The Israeli guitarist recorded seven albums worth of material in 15 years during his all-too-brief 44 trips around the sun.T omorrow’s Gone collects 24 of these tracks for a double album journey across his career, accompanied by a lavish booklet that documents his tragic existence. Armed with only an Eko guitar, a black tuxedo, and his signature wrap-around shades, Charlie Megira was a mold-breaking artist who disintegrated while we were all staring at our phones. 


Tomorrow’s Gone is the first ever compilation of Israeli guitarist, and bastard love child of Elvis and Lux Interior, Charlie Megira. The 24-tracks collected in this album are steeped in Megira’s signature sound of 50s trash rock, surf-y tremolo, and reverb-drenched goth. 2XLP.   


Gatefold jacket. With booklet (which has a glossy-coated cover.)


A1 Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow    
A2 The Coochimamas Swingers    
A3 The Girl Who Was Frightened Of Ashtrays    
A4 The Death Dance Of The Busty Hot Lifeguard Instructor Babe    
A5 Smile Now, Cry Later    
A6 Alligator Man    

B1 Failed In Love    
B2 Mali Boo    
B3 At The Rasco    
B4 Turn Around    
B5 If You Only Knew    
B6 Tomorrow's Gone    

C1 Direct Exercise No. 1    
C2 The Valley Of Tears    
C3 Fear And Joy    
C4 Kiss Of Death    
C5 Je Ne Parle Pas Francais    
C6 Dunkel Party    

D1 Tower Of Tongues    
D2 Nothing    
D3 Freak Junior    
D4 Elvis Is Not Dead    
D5 Psychic Youth-2    
D6 (Used To Be...) Psychic Youth

CHARLIE MEGIRA 2xLP Tomorrow's Gone (Surf poetry/rockabilly artist from Israel)

49,90 € Precio
44,90 €Precio de oferta
  • Label: Numero Group ‎– 211, Numero Group ‎– NUM211

    Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Compilation

    Country: US

    Released: 2019