A vinyl album featuring 14 of her finest sides for Money Records of Los Angeles.


The talented Bettye Swann scored an R&B hit with Don t Wait Too Long, her catchy, self-penned, debut single for Money records in 1965. She seemed to have a bright future but the Motownesque The Man That Said No follow-up did not chart, nor did the tougher-sounding The Heartache Is Gone. However Money's perseverance paid off when yet another self-written number Make Me Yours, pressed all the right commercial buttons and spent two weeks at the top of the R&B charts in 1967. The song was covered by Z Z Hill and Spencer Wiggins and is an established 60s soul classic. Swann wrote nearly all her own songs at Money, except a cover of the Temptations Don't Look Back and an exquisite rendition of Sam Cooke's A Change Is Gonna Come which was on her Make Me Yours LP and is featured here. An LP was scheduled after the first hit, Don't Wait Too Long, but was shelved when the follow-ups failed. That album contained the previously unheard The Dance Is Over and a faster version of I Think I'm Falling In Love compared to the later single; both are deserved inclusions here. The momentum from Swann's big hit carried over to Fall In Love With Me which also charted, but the next 45 was that cover of Don't Look Back which did not add enough to the Temptations version to earn many sales. Far better was the urgent and unusual Don't Take My Mind which featured mature lyrics but was not far out enough to join in the black psychedelic success of the time. After Money, Swann moved to Capitol, Fame and Atlantic but her song-writing on these releases dwindled and then ceased. This LP is testament to her song-writing as well as her vocal skills.


A1 Make Me Yours 2:57
A2 You Gave Me Love 2:43
A3 Lonely Love 2:10
A4 The Dance Is Over 2:07
A5 Fall In Love With Me 2:50
A6 I Will Not Cry 2:56
A7 A Change Is Gonna Come 3:56

B1 I Think I'm Falling In Love 2:02
B2 Don't Take My Mind 2:25
B3 The Man That Said No 2:20
B4 What Can It Be 2:27
B5 The Heartache Is Gone 2:22
B6 Don't Wait Too Long 2:40
B7 Our Love 2:56

BETTYE SWANN LP The Money Masters

21,90 € Precio
17,90 €Precio de oferta
  • Label: Kent Soul ‎– KENT 508

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Mono

    Country: UK

    Released: 2017