top of page

· First ever vinyl reissue

· Limited edition to 500 copies only

· Bonus tracks not on the original LP

· Remastered sound

· Insert with liner notes by Nick Rossi and photos

· Beautifully housed in three back-flapped 1960s UK style picture sleeve!


Primer LP, editado en 1967, por este grupo de R&B británico comandado por el organista Mick Weaver. Puro sonido Hammond y Swingin’ London, similar a Georgie Fame, Graham Bond, Booker T...Limitado a 500 copias, insert con notas y fotos.



The Wynder K. Frog story evolves around Mick Weaver. After he switched from piano to organ he joined a band named The Chapters that would soon be renamed Wynder K. Frog and perform material from James Brown's Flames, Booker T. and The MGs or even songs learned through Georgie Fame's recordings and Graham Bond's repertoire. Wynder K. Frog moved to London and became regulars in the city's R&B scene playing at Swingin' London's clubs like the Tiles or The Marquee. A contract with Island Records was secured and -under the wings of producers like Chris Blackwell, Guy Stevens, Jimmy Miller or Gus Dudgeon- Wynder K Frog, a name that would eventually be used as a pseudonym for Weaver more than a proper band name, did some some amazing Hammond organ-ized recordings and issued in three LPs and a bunch of cool 45s. 


At the end of the 1960s, Weaver would quit the "band scene" to become one of the most in demand session musicians and throughout his career he'd be heard backing names such as Eric Burdon, Roger Chapman, Dave Gilmour, Keef Hartley, Alexis Korner, Ralph McTell, Taj Mahal or Otis Rush a.o, but his LPs as Wynder K Frog are classic Hammond sound from the 1960s UK and will appeal to those into Brian Auger, Graham Bond, The Artwoods, Zoot Money, Jimmy McGriff, Booker T. & The MGs and the likes.



Recorded mostly in 1966 and issued in 1967, Wynder K Frog's first LP came out of sessions produced by Chris Blackwell, Jimmy Miller and Syd Dale. Weaver was assuming more and more the identity of Wynder K Frog and was backed by session musicians rather than by his live band. It consisted in organ led instrumental covers of songs from the Island catalogue, some built over rejected backing tracks for other artists of the label like Jimmy Cliff, Jackie Edwards and Owen Gray and some new recordings of hits like Spencer Davis Group's "Somebody Help Me", plus some covers of american R&B hits by the likes of Sam & Dave, Willie Mitchell or Wilson Pickett. The end result gave an idea of the Wynder K Frog sound, resulting in a top mix of dance club go-go sounds, perfect for any allnighter at the Tiles or any Swingin' London venue of the 1960s.


A1 Sunshine Superman
A2 I Feel So Bad
A3 Oh Mary
A4 Blues For A Frog
A5 Somebody Help Me
A6 Mercy
A7 Turn On Your Lovelight
A8 Zooming

B1 Hold On, I'm Coming
B2 Shook, Shimmy And Shake
B3 Insence
B4 Walking To New Orleans
B5 (Don't Fight It) Feel It
B6 Dancin' Pain
B7 I'm A Man
B8 Henry's Panter

WYNDER K. FROG LP Sunshine Super Frog

€24.90 Regular Price
€21.90Sale Price
  • Label: Wah Wah Records Supersonic Sounds ‎– LPS210

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered 

    Country: Spain

    Released: 2018

bottom of page