top of page

Funky nation es una serie de compilaciones dedicadas a las raíces de la música funk. Este segundo volumen tiene como objetivo presentar, a través de títulos importantes y algunas rarezas, las canciones de jazz y sus variantes que han favorecido la aparición de este estilo que está más vivo que nunca.



If you are searching for the very roots of Funk, this compilation is the right place to start. This is a great selection of music through which you immediately get into the groove of what is at the source of Funk syncopation. The album opens with Dizzy Gillespie's "Manteca" one of the foundations of Afro Cuban Jazz and develops through an incredible array of fundamental names in the history of Jazz and related music. A full catalogue of standards and hits such as Herbie Hancock's "Watermelon Man", Horace Silver's "Opus de Funk" and some more obscure gems like Slim Gaillard's hot latin number "Yo Yo Yo", the infectious "riddim" of Count Ossie's "First Gone" and Sun Ra Afro-Futuristic hymn "A Call For All Demons".


A1 Dizzy Gillepsie - Matenca    
A2 Slim Gaillard - Yo Yo Yo    
A3 Sun Ra - New Day    
A4 Bobby Timmons - This Here    
A5 Herbie Hancock - Watermelon Man    

B1 Moondog - Moondog Symphony (Part 1 : Timberwolf)    
B2 Count Ossie And The Wareikas - First Gone    
B3 Thelonious Monk - Monk's Dream    
B4 Charles Mingus Septet - Slop    
B5 Horace Silver Trio - Opus De Funk    
B6 Sun Ra - Call For All Demons

VARIOS LP Funky Nation Volume 2

€24.90 Regular Price
€17.90Sale Price
  • Label: Primitiv Sounds – PRM004

    Format: Vinyl, LP

    Country: France

    Released: Feb 1, 2019

bottom of page