top of page

* Funk rock of the highest order from Nigeria
* For fans of Witch, Ofege, Akwassa, Baby Huey, Funkadelic, Osibisa, Mother’s Finest, Assagai
* Filled to the last groove with catchy and captivating funk rock anthems
* An original affair for fans of groovy black music
* Haunting anti war lyrics
* Hot fuzzed out lead guitars allover the album
* Excellent sound and performance by high class professional musicians
* First ever rerelease on vinyl 
* Fully licensed
* Remastered audio
* LP housed in a superheavy 430g art carton cover
* Ultimate collectors item for fans of 1970s funk rock from Nigeria


There was a time in the 1970s when the best band in the Nigeria was actually from Cameroon. Rock Town Express, formed out of the ashes of Wrinkar Experience by Yaound’ boys Edjo’o Jacques Racine and Ginger Forcha, hit it hard, hit it loud and hit it funky. Racine and Forcha had been recruited from Cameroon by Dan Ian and after only six months, left them stranded in Nigeria’s troubled east. Their first album as Rock Town Express was released on Ginger Baker’s ARC label in 1974. This, their second eponymous album, features a more subdued sepia toned cover but rocks even harder. The horror of the Biafran War weighs heavily on Rock Town Express. The guitars wail, the horns parp and the synths swirls in a maelstrom of pain and anger. ‘Peaceful Solution’ implores people to live in peace and harmony. ‘Spaceville Rape’ bemoans the wanton destruction that comes with war. And ‘Nobody’s Man’ is the defiant cry of an ex-soldier determined to make his own way in the world. Rock Town Express is an angry and dark transmission from Nigeria’s east that the war may have been over, but the scars were still yet to heal. – Peter Moore


A1 I Want To See You Tonight
A2 Shake It On Baby
A3 Peaceful Solution


B1 I Want To Love
B2 Spaceville Rape
B3 Nobody's Man


22,90 € Regular Price
19,90 €Sale Price
  • Label: PMG – PMG043LP

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue

    Country: Austria

    Released: Nov 15, 2016

bottom of page