top of page

Robert Cray Teams with Steve Jordan and Legendary Memphis Sidemen for New Album.

Robert Cray has been bridging the lines between blues, soul and R&B for the past four decades, with five Grammy wins and over 20 acclaimed albums. For his latest project, Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm, the Blues Hall of Famer traveled to Memphis with his friend, renowned Grammy Award winning producer Steve Jordan, to make a classic soul album with Hi Rhythm, the band that helped create that sound.

Jordan and Cray met in 1987 while working on the concert film Hail! Hail! Rock and Roll, a tribute to Chuck Berry. Steve produced Robert's Grammy winning Take Your Shoes Off in 1999, and a number of other albums, including the exciting 4 Nights of 40 Years Live. He knew of Robert's deep love of O.V. Wright and other Memphis soul legends, and suggested they take up residence at Royal Studios, where Wright, Ann Peebles, Al Green, Syl Johnson, Otis Clay and many others recorded with the venerable producer, songwriter, arranger and engineer, Willie Mitchell. The core of Mitchell's Hi Rhythm band used on many of those landmark sessions was still around, though Mitchell himself had passed in 2010.


A1 The Same Love That Made Me Laugh 3:51
A2 You Must Believe In Yourself 3:40
A3 I Don't Care 5:27
A4 Aspen, Colorado 4:19
A5 Just How Low 3:51
A6 You Had My Heart 4:53

B1 I'm With You (Part 1) 4:22
B2 Honey Bad 6:08
B3 The Way We Were 5:04
B4 Don't Steal My Love 5:26
B5 I'm With you (Part 2) 3:19

ROBERT CRAY LP Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm

€21.90 Regular Price
€19.90Sale Price
  • Label: Jay-Vee Records ‎– JV2017LP

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Album 

    Country: Czech Republic

    Released: 03 May 2017

bottom of page