top of page

Penthouse 5 fueron uno de los numeroros grupos garageros procedentes de Texas que empezaron en los 60 influenciados por la British Invasion. Publicaron dos excelentes singles con clásicos del Texas garage como "Bad Girl" y folk–rockers como "In The Shadow" o "Don’t Mess Around With My Dream". Entre 1965 y 1967 el grupo grabó un puñado de canciones que permanecido inéditas hasta ahora y que van dese crudo garage hasta sonidos más psicodelicos. Se incluye un 7" de bonus con temas de grupos relacionados como WordD y By Five. Limitado a 500 copias.



- Texas '60s Garageband 
- LP feat tracks by closely linked groups WordD and By Fives
- Bonus 7" feat a tough early alternate "Bad Girl" version and 
the By Fives Garage Killer "I Saw You Walking"
- remastered to most excellent sound ever at Pauler Acoustics
- full glossy LP sized Insert w/pics and history 

The Penthouse 5 were one of thousands of Texas bands influenced by the mid '60s British Invasion sound. Hailing from Dallas suburb Oak Cliff, the group had its heyday from 1966-67, when they recorded a number of group originals and released two 45's. The band is best remembered for their 1966 garage killer 'Bad Girl', the Beatleesque 'You're Gonna Make Me' and more Byrds like folkrocking recordings such as 'In The Shadow' or 'Don't Mess Around With My Dream'. Several 1967 recorded and more psychedelic influenced tracks remained unreleased, but demonstrate the musical versatility of the band. In 1966 the group underwent a substantial line-up change when three of the original band members, among them vocalist Rob Graham, left the group. He was replaced by Jon Williams, who had previously been with the By Fives and WordD. Alongside the Penthouse 5 recordings, the rare 7'ers of these closely linked bands are all collected for this release. Additionally an until now completely unknown 5-Track acetate recorded in 1965 rounds up this collection of rare and lost recordings by one of the greatest local sixties bands from the Lone Star State.

A1 Bad Girl Solar Records Single A-Side 1966
A2 In His Shadow Hawk Records Single B-Side 1967
A3 Don't Mess Around With My Dream Solar Records Single B-Side 1966
A4 You're Gonna Make Me Hawk Records Single A-Side 1967
A5 It's All My Own Bizarre Dream Unreleased 1967
A6 Vertigo Blue Sometime Unreleased 1967
A7 It's All My Own Bizarre Dream Unreleased 1967

B1 Keep On Walking Unreleased 1967
B2 You're Gonna Make Me Caprice Records Single B-Side
B3 You're Always Around Caprice Records Single A-Side 1966
B4 Steppin Out Unreleased 1965
B5 Boom Boom Unreleased 1965
B6 Tobacco Road Unreleased 1965
B7 You Make Me Feel Good Unreleased 1965

PENTHOUSE 5 LP+7" It's All My Own Bizarre Dream

€21.90 Regular Price
€17.90Sale Price
  • Label: Break-A-Way Records ‎– BREAK 047

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation Vinyl, 7"

    Country: Germany

    Released: 2016

bottom of page