top of page

Recopilación con los mejores momentos de Jou Cogra, seudónimo del músico catalán Josep Cortés, incluyendo su buscado EP y temas de su raros dos LPs para Spiral y Tipi. Todo un festival de Hammond grooves, library music, funk psicodélico y ritmos latinos. Remasterizado, insert con fotos y notas por Don Sicalíptico.

Jou Cogra’s rare 45 and LPs have been the object of desire for a long time among collectors. Born Josep Cortés Granero, this catalan musician moved freely from tropical / latin sounds to Hammond fueled rare grooves with influences of masters of those genre from Pérez Prado to Jimmy Smith or Brian Auger. His first LP was a collection of popular latin tunes, rooted in his earlier work with latin orchestras. He then moved to the underground, releasing a mega rare privately pressed 4 songs EP on which he introduced funkier psychedelic rhythms, Perez Prado was leaving room for a Jimmy Smith / Brian Auger Hammond based club oriented sound. His second LP was a strange mixture of styles, some lame tracks mixed with groovy instrumentals worth of any dancefloor.
This compilation is a selection of the grooviest tracks from his discography, including his most Hammon-ized floor fillers and an astonishing latin version of ‘Lupita’. Mostly issued originally on private pressings or limited run editions on small labels between 1971 and 1976.
It features an insert with lots of unseen photos and a text by Don Sicalíptico.
500 copies only, comes with remastered sound worked from the original master tapes.


A1 Darkness

A2 Atrapados

A3 Cajas De Madera

A4 Blues 4

A5 Super Blues

A6 Mi Esperanza

A7 Eu Vou

A8 Lupita


B1 Persecución

B2 Todo Controlado

B3 Cráter Satánico

B4 Comanche

B5 Mambo En Sax

B6 Novo Amanecer

B7 Sweet Charme

JOU COGRA LP Hammond Explosion

€24.90 Regular Price
€19.90Sale Price
  • Label: Wah Wah Records ‎– WBSLP018

    Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition, Remastered

    Country: Spain

    Released: 2016

bottom of page